Something fishy is going on

Yesterday we went to National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth. My son Kane went there on a school trip a while back and received a free return ticket. We planned to go yesterday as I was hoping it wouldn’t be too busy a day after the bank holiday weekend.

I used my sat nav to find the Harbour car park, I found the postcode on the aquarium website, it cost £4.50 for upto 3 hours.

We went in at around 2pm and luckily for us there wasn’t a que to go in. So straight in we went. There was a lift, ramps and stairs so it was fully accessible to get around. Across 3 floors there were lots of different species of fish. Kane could name most of them and also tell me facts on them. He loved showing me all the fish and showing me around (as he’d been there before). He especially liked the cuttlefish. His baby sister enjoyed looking at the big fish in the big tanks. In the middle of the aquarium there’s a big tank with chairs lined up like a cinema and you can sit and watch the fish swimming by. We sat there for a while, her eyes were darting here, there and everywhere. I found it very relaxing, I could have fallen asleep. I saw that you can stay at the aquarium overnight (selected dates) it’s called ‘sleeping with sharks’ it sounds interesting.

There were lots of staff checking tanks and walking around incase you needed anything. Some held doors open for me as I had the pram and were very helpful. In the seated area I was just talking about there were lots of things found in the sea for example compass, parts of a ship, diving helmets ect. There was a member of staff there talking to people looking at them. She played a game with a few children including my son. He sat down nicely playing the game and I could see he was really enjoying it. The staff member engaged well with the children and made sure they were all involved in the game not just the ones who spoke up.

The Aquarium is enjoyable for all ages, me, my 6 year old and 2 month old had a lovely time, and we will definitely return. I paid £15.95 for a standard adult pass and recieved a ticket for unlimited return for a year. I was very pleased with that.

Author: seasidelivingwithaturtleandunicorn

Our interests are making, creating, cooking and baking. We love woodland walks and days on the beach. We have a keen interest for wildlife especially birds and sea life. I'll introduce us, my name is Mia, originally from Birmingham but moved to Cornwall in 2014. I'm in the healthcare profession, and also fully qualified in hair, beauty and nails. I'm a home bird, and love spending time with my family. I enjoy crafting, scrap booking, and creating memory box frames. I also love to cook and bake, trying out new recipes. I especially like Italian food or anything with garlic! Yum. My favourite colour is blue and I love dragonflies. I love Disney films especially Aladdin and Beauty and the Beast. (Me and my partner compare ourselves to Beauty and the Beast and also Lady and the Tramp... haha we do love each other really!) ❤️👨‍👩‍👧‍👦 My sons name is Kane, he loves the ninja turtles, swimming, bike rides, bowling, baking, kinder eggs and collecting blind bags. His dislikes are many foods such as crisps and vegetables (anything with a colour to it really, very fussy eater) He was born in Birmingham in March 2011. 💙🐢 My daughters name is Esmé, she is a tiny baby born in Cornwall in July 2017. Her interests so far are milk, and her light up neighing unicorn. Her dislikes are being woken up and baths. 💜🦄

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s